How is your heart?

A friend asked me a number of years ago ‘How is your heart?’ I had never been asked that before and I don’t think I really understood what was meant by the question. God sure did! God knew I needed to have that question asked of me and has been shaping the answer in my life ever since.

She also shared Deuteronomy 30:6

The LORD your God will circumcise your hearts and the hearts of your descendants, so that you may love him with all your heart and with all your soul, and live.

Various Authors. Holy Bible (NIV) (New International Version) (Kindle Locations 8491-8492). Zondervan. Kindle Edition.

It was interesting reading this verse and ‘daring’ to ask how this could apply to me or should apply for me. God has shown me heaps about my heart – my attitude, my lack of love, and my ‘need’ for control. As the word ‘circumcised’ implies, there was pain but I am so thankful to have been and continue to be on this journey … so thankful for the healing that has occurred.

So ‘How is your heart?’ As you seek to do life, as you seek to be involved in ministry, as you seek to be a daughter, perhaps a mum, a sister, a friend, a coach, a mentor and most importantly a daughter of God, how is your heart? Is being a Christian just an external thing? How are you going in the intimacy of your relationship with God? Are you open to the circumcision of your heart?

4 thoughts on “How is your heart?

  1. Hi Mandy – just a thought – to circumcise – suggests the pain is caused by another person. The Voice bible suggests God will cut away and circumcise the hardness from around your heart. It may be painful but it is the best for us.

    Like

  2. I agree Christine. It is God doing the circumcising/cutting away of the hardness on our heart. That is why I can be confident that the potential pain is good for me. Perhaps He might use others to facilitate this but if it is not from Him it is unnecessary pain.

    Like

  3. Hey Mandy…this is great.

    My immediate thought connection was to John 15 where it talks about pruning. So i like the image mentioned above of cutting off the hard parts..that is the unfruitful parts that won’t produce life…or whatever stands in the way of god working in and through us.

    Like

Leave a comment